About Us

Blockchain & Climate Institute

With climate change threatening the livelihoods of humans and the earth they inhabit, there is an urgent need for a strong commitment to develop innovative solutions in a responsible and transparent way. Developments in emerging technologies such as Distributed Ledger Technologies (DLT), particularly blockchain, play a crucial role in addressing global sustainability challenges. There remains, however, a policy evidence gap among state and non-state-based institutions in the climate change policy community.

As a progressive think tank providing leading expertise in emerging technologies deployment for climate and sustainability actions, the Blockchain & Climate Institute addresses this by enabling global technology transfers. By means of aggregation and distribution of new knowledge, BCI’s international network for scientific and technological experts is able to enhance state and non-state climate actions through targeted technological interventions.


To effect positive change by raising awareness among the international climate change policy community of the tremendous potential of blockchain technology to considerably enhance state and non-state climate actions through targeted technological interventions.

Executive Committee

The BCI Executive Committee comprises of experienced individuals who are well-respected in their respective fields. They lead the different divisions in BCI, each playing a crucial role in achieving BCI’s goals and objectives.

Alastair Marke

Alastair Marke


Dr Bremley Lyngdoh

Dr Bremley Lyngdoh

Director of Development

Candice Teo

Candice Teo

Director of Communications

Dr Pedro Baiz

Dr Pedro Baiz

Head of Research (Finance)

Advisory Board

The BCI Advisory Board plays a strong role in developing programmatic strategies by providing critical advice to the Executive Committee.

Board members:

Working Groups

BCI Working Groups (WGs) aim to focus on specific sectors that will benefit the most from blockchain and other emerging technologies. Each Working Group is composed of a Chair, members, secretaries and ad-hoc expert members.

The Working Groups are currently set up as follows:

  • Renewable Energy Working Group
  • Emissions Management Working Group
  • Natural Resources Management Group
  • International Climate Finance Working Group
  • Regulatory Reform Working Group
  • Insurance Working Group